Garage Gym of the Week: Mat K.

What’s your name? Mat K.

How old are you? 30 years old

Tell us a little bit about yourself: I am a native Texan currently living in North Carolina, married with 2 dogs, ( Fredrick and Charles,) and working in the military

How would you describe your training style (CrossFit, Olympic Weightlifting, etc.)? Crossfit with large focus on Olympic weightlifting.

How would you describe your fitness/strength level, currently? I feel right now it is pretty good as far as strength goes, currently in cutting season and hitting the cardio much more often.

What are your fitness/strength goals? To be a savage all around! I'd say I wanna be able to lift a car, and run beside it!

Describe your garage gym. It's a bomba rig, from fringe! And we built the platform ourselves. We buy stuff whenever we can, and piece it together.

Who works out in your garage gym? Well at the moment just my wife and I. Sometimes we get the crew over for some good partner Wods and BBQ.

Why did you build a garage gym? Well honestly it was cheaper than most the crossfit gyms per year, so I thought why not let's build our own, and here we are now!

What’s your favorite piece of equipment in your garage? Def the barbell! It's all you need!

What piece of equipment was a waste? I don't think anything is a waste, if you take the time to learn it.

What’s the next piece of equipment you’re going to get? I think a good set of dumbbells from 20 to 80 lbs.

Any dream piece of equipment? I want a great rower!! Nothing like a good row to get the blood going!!

How did you build your garage gym? Over time we built it. We gathered the equipment here and there when we could, all was purchased brand new, we looked at it as an investment.

Do you have any tips for anyone else looking to build a garage gym? Don't get discouraged not having a piece of equipment you want, just substitute a workout that you can, until you get that piece you need!!


Susie Sebastian
Susie Sebastian

Author

Susie is the Digital Marketing Specialist here at FringeSport. She's a web nerd and loves being a part of the FringeSport team!



Leave a comment